French Quarter Fun Part 2

Wednesday morning I set off, Fodor’s New Orleans guide in hand, to discover New Orleans! (Or at least the French Quarter portion!)

The first destination on my little adventure was Jackson Square. This happening little joint has a rich history. At one point this square was a military parade ground and a public execution site. Nowadays it boasts tarot readers, local artists, and some swingin’ jazz bands (and, of course, a few talented beggars.)

Also on in the square is this larger-than-life statue of Andrew Jackson (war of 1812 anyone?) That’s St. Louis Cathedral in the background.

And these sweet wrought iron entrance lamps. (I’ll expound upon the wrought iron magnificence found throughout the city in another post!)

At the top (?) of Jackson Square sits St. Louis Cathedral, The Presbytere, and The Presbytere’s twin building. These three architectural beauts are really something to see.

St. Louis’s is the oldest active cathedral in the United States! (It’s been modified and updated since it’s origin, though.) I didn’t get to go into the garden, but it is supposed to be really beautiful and is on my to-do list for next time I’m here (oh yes, there will be a next time; there are so many things I didn’t get to!)

The Presbytere and its twin are Spanish-colonial style buildings that sit on either side of St. Louis’s. I loved the color of the buildings as well as their windows and ‘steeple’ (there is probably a proper architectural term for this; if anyone knows it, please enlighten!

Here are some more detail pictures:

The ‘bottom’ of Jackson Square is flanked by the Pontalba Buildings, two buildings constructed in the 1840’s by Baroness Pontalba. The coolest thing about these buildings is the wrought iron: Baroness Pontalba designed the iron to reflect the initials of her maiden name (‘A’) and her married name (‘P’):

Also at the ‘bottom’ of Jackson Square is Washington Artillery Park. This little park overlooks the Mississippi. When I got to the top I was serenaded by a steam boat playing ‘When the Saints Go Marching In’! Too perfect!

The park actually honors the 141st Field Artillery of the Louisiana National Guard

After scouting the Square and its surroundings, I headed down Dutch Alley, an adorable little artist’s alley that I stumbled upon

where I fell in love/was completely inspired by these doors:

and these balconies:

I have been contemplating the idea of adding this color to our bedroom for a few weeks now and these doors totally convinced me! (More on this later as I figure out how to do it!)

Also in the alley, I happened upon this sign, of which I took several photos in honor of my fam! (My maiden name is Peters)

On my way out of the alley I wandered up Gov. Nicholls Street to find the Beauregard-Keyes House. For all of you Civil War buffs, this building was the home of General P.G.T Beauregard for a short time. (Frances Parkinson Keyes, the author, also lived there for some time and helped restore the building.) Again, I didn’t get to check out the gardens, and again I will have to return! But here is the front:

And a detail photo of the wrought iron railing:

Another really interesting building is the ‘Madame John’s Legacy’ building. It’s architectural style is West Indies and it is the only example of such a style in the French Quarter. Look how different it is from everything else! So neat.

And that, dear friends, concluded my jaunt around the French Quarter!

It was interesting to sight see by myself! I was a little nervous to pull out my map and guidebook for looking unaware of my surroundings and likewise didn’t take too much time to focus the camera well in all of these photos; I apologize for the poor photo quality and promise better in the future! πŸ™‚

Next, I’ll share my mosey through the Garden District complete with a Street Car ride straight from the turn of the century!

One thought on “French Quarter Fun Part 2

Leave a Reply

