A Pretty Rose

I met a new friend today. Her name is Armena and she is an artist and a gardener for some of the homes on our walk to the beach!

She keeps the most beautiful roses, and after we chatted about her rose-tending secrets, she snipped off this beauty for me:

Rose from Armena journey inspired 2 small

At first glance it almost looks like a peony with its frilly pink petals. But it’s a rose (though she doesn’t know the variety) and it smells like French-milled soap! It reminds me of the beautiful roses we saw at Versailles.

And now it’s sitting in our living room looking oh so pretty 🙂

Happy Friday, y’all!

3 thoughts on “A Pretty Rose

  1. I’m in Houston right now. They’re famous for their roses here (also bluebonnets.) My grandmother here used to be obsessed with roses.

    • Yes! The Yellow Rose of Texas! My parents lived in Texas for 5 years when they were first married and my dad always gets my mom yellow roses because of it:) Does your grandmother grow roses?!

      • Well, she passed away, but she did grow *a lot* of them. And I just found out that my grandfather keeps a single (wilted, I believe, but I didn’t see it) rose on her old bed. Maybe I’ll grow some myself.

Leave a comment